Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
W.S. Cumby provided preconstruction and construction management services for the renovation and addition to the Parrish House at Church of the Redeemer in Bryn Mawr, PA. The project included the renovation of the original 19th century Parrish House and Sexton’s Cottage, the demolition of the existing 1955 Parrish House addition and the construction of a new, larger addition. As a whole, the project required the seamless integration of three buildings into one singular structure.
The new 3-story addition features a spacious lobby with bluestone flooring and a dramatic bluestone staircase. New Parrish Offices were constructed in their own bi-level wing with a private staircase, while the upper floor features a new music room and renovated classrooms. A highlight of the Parrish House addition is its thoughtful integration into the original 19th century structure. Rather than cover the exterior walls and windows on the historic structure, they were left exposed providing a dramatic focal point in both the main and upper level hallways. The addition also features a lower level hospitality suite and community room with a private exterior entrance.
Within the existing Parrish House, the largest room was fully renovated and now boasts stunningly restored lead-glass windows, a dramatic, blue ceiling with meticulously refinished beams, a state-of-the-art audio-visual system and a brand-new integrated lighting system. The former Sexton’s Cottage was gutted and reimagined into a dramatic, two-story meeting space punctuated by clerestory windows. A brand-new catering kitchen was also created in the former Parrish House complete with stainless steel appliances and spacious preparation and serving stations.